Getting a Texas alcohol license will give business owners very good benefits, so follow our Tips for Obtaining Texas Alcohol License in 2023. We all know that alcohol comes with high-profit margins in any business, ranging from 60% to 85%, and the numbers indicate that businessmen invest in alcohol sales to the business model.
But the question is, how to operate legally, with all the permits and licenses to comply? Of course, getting a Texas alcohol license is the first thing to figure out when having a liquor business. In this article, let us know the updated process for obtaining a Texas alcohol license as we give you tips for 2023.
Requirements for Getting a Texas Liquor License
The TABC regulates all kinds of the alcoholic beverage industry in the state, including manufacturing, advertising, importation, sales, transportation, and taxation.
And according to Texas Alcoholic Beverage Code, an individual will not be eligible to receive the Texas Alcohol License if:
- Below 21 years old
- Violated the alcohol code for the last 6 months with any act that involves “moral turpitude.”
- Violated the Texas alcohol and liquor code for the past two years
- Had felony conviction in the past five years.
- Can’t demonstrate a good moral character
- Have debts with local tax
Other than meeting the rules of the state, cities, and counties that local ordinances have, the zoning fees, restrictions, standards for late-hour operations, and even the certificates of the occupancy requirements.
Process of Licensing - How to Apply for Texas Alcohol License
Obtaining a Texas Alcohol License is easy, especially if you already have all the requirements.
You may apply the AIMS of the state or submit it as a paper. The TABC even encourages those who want to apply using AIMS, and they warn about the processing time for paper applications that can be significantly longer.
These are the instructions you may follow in submitting through the mail. Otherwise, you may use the AIMS service and just follow the procedures to be discussed to make it a lot easier for you.
1. Set up an AIMS Account
Having an AIMS account is straightforward, and the system is so easy to use and compatible with even 2 internet browsers - Google Chrome and Microsoft Edge. That’s why you have to keep that in mind when you begin.
2. Apply for a New License
Once the account is created and logged in, you will see a section on the dashboard, “Apply for a New License/Subordinate”. You can pause, return, and save to the application anytime.
3. Complete the TABC Licensing Course
Even if it’s not required, you must complete a course that will walk you through the responsibilities of permits and licenses. This is highly recommended - you only have to complete an attestation form to certify that you’ve already finished the course. This also includes having a copy along with your application with AIMS.
4. Prepare for At least 60 Days of Processing
It’s always best that you start the process of application earlier. This depends on the kind of application needed by the local government and even the processing that will take 45-60 days. In fact, in some cases, it would take quite a long. That’s why you should plan.
What are the Types of Liquor Licenses in Texas?
As the TABC sees every aspect of production, sales, and distribution of alcohol in Texas, there may be various licenses being offered depending on the business type to open, as well as the alcohol kinds that you wish to serve or make.
These licenses should comply with those in the food service industry.
- On-Premise License of Retail Dealer to allow selling of beer
- Retailer’s Permit for Wine and Malt to allow the selling of wine and beer
- Permit for Mixed Beverages to allow selling of spirits, wine, and beer
- Tavern Liquor License to sell both food and alcohol
More so, some of the locales in Texas must provide food requirements when alcohol is served. So, if you have an eatery business, you will have no problem meeting the requirements. However, you need to apply also for the Food and Beverage Certificate from TABC.
Tips for Obtaining Texas Alcohol License in 2023
Just like a doctor needs to be licensed to practice his profession, the same goes for businessmen or alcohol sellers, who must obtain their state’s license, like the Texas Alcohol License.
Whether you hope to serve or sell liquor onsite or just hope to sell alcohol as your retail function, you need to obtain a license through your county’s TABC branch. Accomplishing this will also make your business legal and prevent issues in the future.
Leave a Reply